Friday, 7 December 2012

INEC De-registers 28 political parties

TheINEC yesterday Thursday December 6th announced the De-registration of 28 political parties.

Find the statement the agency released below...

"In the exercise of the powers conferred on it by the 1999 Constitution (as amended) and the Electoral Act 2010 (as amended), the Independent National Electoral Commission has today, Thursday, December 6, 2012, de-registered the following political parties:
1.  African Liberation Party (ALP) 
2.  Action Party of Nigeria (APN)
3.  African Political System (APS)
4.   Better Nigeria Progressive Party (BNPP)
5.  Congress for Democratic Change (CDC)
Why were these parties de-registered? INEC didn't say. See the remaining 23 parties after the cut...
6.  Community Party of Nigeria (CPN)
7.  Democratic Peoples Alliance (DPA)
8.  Freedom Party of Nigeria (FPN) 
9.  Fresh Democratic Party (FDP)
10.   Hope Democratic Party (HDP) 
11.   Justice Party (JP)
12.   Liberal Democratic Party of Nigeria (LDPN)
13.   Movement for Democracy and Justice (MDJ)
14.   Movement for the Restoration and Defence of Democracy (MRDD)
15.   Nigeria Advanced Party (NAP)
16.   New Democrats (ND) 
17.  National Majority Democratic Party (NMDP)
18.   National Movement of Progressive Party (NMPP)
19.   National Reformation Party (NRP) 
20.   National Solidarity Democratic Party (NSDP) 
21.   Progressive Action Congress (PAC) 
22.   Peoples Mandate Party (PMP) 
23.   Peoples Progressive Party (PPP)
 24.   Peoples Redemption Party (PRP)
25.   People’s Salvation Party (PSP) 
26.   Republican Party of Nigeria (RPN) 
27.   United National Party for Development (UNPD)
28.   United Nigeria Peoples Party (UNPP) 

The Commission hereby reiterates its commitment to relating with political parties in accordance with extant laws and for the benefit of our electoral democracy.”


Post a Comment